The Oregon Department of Forestry welcomes three new Board Members. Governor Kate Brown announced her nomination of Joe Justice, Brenda McComb, and Jim Kelly on Aug. 30, 2018. The Oregon State Senate confirmed appointees on Sept. 26 with their term beginning on Sept. 28, 2018. The incoming Board Members replace Sybil Ackerman-Munson, Tom Insko, and Gary Springer.

“We are immensely appreciative of Governor Brown’s appointment of our newest board members,” said Tom Imeson, Board Chair. “Each of these individuals bring unique strengths and diverse perspectives that will benefit Oregon’s forests and Oregonians.”

Joe Justice is the Region Manager of Hancock Forest Management lands in northeast Oregon. He is the President of the East Oregon Forest Protection Association and has also served as a member of the Eastern Oregon Regional Forest Practices Committee. Joe has been a member of the La Grande School Board for the past seven years and is currently the chair.

Justice began his career in forestry as a regeneration forester in the Oregon coast range. He has worked on the land he currently manages in La Grande since 2000, starting as a silviculturist and eventually moving into logging administration, log marketing and management. He holds a degree in Forest Management from Oregon State University.

Brenda McComb retired as Vice Provost for Academic Affairs at Oregon State University (OSU) in 2016 and is Professor Emerita in the Department of Forest Ecosystems and Society at OSU. She currently serves as the Interim Associate Vice Provost and Dean of Students at Stanford University. She has previously served on the faculty at the University of Kentucky, University of Massachusetts Amherst, and OSU. She also served one year as chief of the Watershed Ecology Branch for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency in Corvallis.

McComb earned a BS and MS from the University of Connecticut, and a PhD in Forestry from Louisiana State University. She continues to advise graduate students working on forest habitat selection studies, teaches graduate and professional education courses, and is a consultant on forest management issues.

Jim Kelly is an entrepreneur with a long history of civic involvement. Since 1999, he has owned and managed a ranch that produces grass-fed beef in rural Grant County. Jim has served on Boards of 1000 Friends of Oregon, the Portland Housing Authority, and Business for Social Responsibility. He is co-founder of the Oregon Business Association and served on that organization’s Board for 17 years.

Kelly is a lifelong Oregonian who grew up in northeast Portland and founded a successful hardware company. He is also co-founder of the North Star Civic Foundation, a small Oregon non-profit involved with public policy issues.

Outgoing Board Members include Sybil Ackerman-Munson, Consultant at Ackerman-Munson Strategies, who concluded her second term of service June 2018. Tom Insko, President of Eastern Oregon University, concluded his second term of service August 2018. Gary Springer, a forester with Starker Forests in Corvallis, concluded his second term of service June 2016.

Board Chair Tom Imeson, joined by ODF staff, have expressed deep appreciation for the service given by all three departing Board Members.

The Oregon Board of Forestry consists of seven citizens nominated by the Governor and confirmed by the Oregon Senate. The term of office is four years, and no member may serve more than two consecutive full terms. Responsibilities include appointing the State Forester, setting management direction for state-owned forests, adopting rules governing timber harvest and other practices on private forestland, and promoting sustainable management of Oregon’s 30 million-acre forestland base.

More information can be found online, about the Board of Forestry.